Taking coolant for turbo from throttle body bypass

The place for all technical car discussions. If you haven't already, read our Disclaimer first!

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Taking coolant for turbo from throttle body bypass

Postby Vertigo » Tue Jan 16, 2018 6:00 pm

Sup. Ive taken my throttle body coolant lines off to direct them to my turbo instead. Now getting high idle. What needs to be done to address this? Don't care about having idle varying with temp, so long as it drops down to a manageable level around 1000 RPM.
TVIS just kicked in, yo!
AW11 200kw 4AGTE build Discuss
Image
Vertigo
Toyspeed Member
 
Posts: 1168
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 12:03 pm
Location: Auckland

Re: Taking coolant for turbo from throttle body bypass

Postby whynot » Tue Jan 16, 2018 6:14 pm

High idle will be from the thermostatic idle valve. You could re plumb so the turbo is in series on the down stream side of it. Then it should work as factory. Or you could change the throttle body for a 3sge unit which has a electric idle control valve. You also get a bigger throttle body if you do that and it bolts on. Might have to make a gasket to stop the idle port from having a vacuum leak depending on what you get it from.
"You can't do it like that!." "Why not?"
User avatar
whynot
Toyspeed Member
 
Posts: 411
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 6:56 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: Taking coolant for turbo from throttle body bypass

Postby Vertigo » Tue Jan 16, 2018 7:12 pm

re plumb so the turbo is in series on the down stream side


Yep, thats worth thinking about. Cheers!
TVIS just kicked in, yo!
AW11 200kw 4AGTE build Discuss
Image
Vertigo
Toyspeed Member
 
Posts: 1168
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 12:03 pm
Location: Auckland

Re: Taking coolant for turbo from throttle body bypass

Postby Vertigo » Thu Mar 29, 2018 8:08 am

Ended up making a block off plate (actually, found one on a spare throttle body), works a treat and is easy to do.
TVIS just kicked in, yo!
AW11 200kw 4AGTE build Discuss
Image
Vertigo
Toyspeed Member
 
Posts: 1168
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 12:03 pm
Location: Auckland


Return to Tech Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron
Fatal: Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php